Health Ministry-Sri Lanka

Dengue Mosquito

There are about 140 species of mosquitoes in Sri Lanka. Out of them Aedes Aegypti and Aedes Albopictus mosquitoes are transmitting dengue virus to humans. Two types of mosquitoes can be differentiated by markings on their body.

Aedes Albopictus  Aedes Aegypti

Life Cycle

There is an aquatic phase (eggs, larvae, pupae) and a terrestrial phase (adults) in the life-cycle of Ae. aegypti and Ae. albopictus. Female mosquitoes of Aedes aegypti and Ae. albopictus lay their eggs on the inner walls of containers with water. The eggs hatch to larvae (picture 1, inset) when water inundates the eggs by any means such as rains or filling water by people. The mosquitoe larvae (picture 2) feed on microorganisms and particulate organic matter. The larvae shed their skins three times and develop first to fourth instars. The 4th instar larva develops (has acquired enough energy and size and is in the fourth instar, it will change into – can be deleted) to pupa (picture 3). Pupae do not feed and develop to (; they just change in form until the body of the – can be deleted) adult mosquito. (Then, the newly formed adult emerges from the water after breaking the pupal skin – can be deleted) (picture 4, inset). The entire life cycle lasts 8-10 days at (room temperature ?), depending on the level of feeding.

The eggs of Ae. aegypti and Ae. albopictus can withstand desiccation for several months. And also, the dengue virus can go to the next generation via the eggs (transovarian transmission). These are major threats for dengue control in the country.

Breeding Places

எங்களை தொடர்பு

  • தேசிய டெங்கு தடுப்பு பிரிவு,
    பொதுமக்கள் சுகாதார கட்டடத்தொகுதி,
    555/5, எல்விட்டிகல மாவத்தை, நாராஹேன்பிட்டி, கொழும்பு 5
  • (0094) 1 2368416, 2368417